Lenten Devotional – March 21, 2023

Today’s passage is Matthew 13:53-58

53 When Jesus had finished telling these stories and illustrations, he left that part of the country. 54 He returned to Nazareth, his hometown. When he taught there in the synagogue, everyone was amazed and said, “Where does he get this wisdom and the power to do miracles?” 55 Then they scoffed, “He’s just the carpenter’s son, and we know Mary, his mother, and his brothers—James, Joseph,[f] Simon, and Judas. 56 All his sisters live right here among us. Where did he learn all these things?” 57 And they were deeply offended and refused to believe in him.

Then Jesus told them, “A prophet is honored everywhere except in his own hometown and among his own family.” 58 And so he did only a few miracles there because of their unbelief.

I have preached several times over the years in the church where I grew up.  And I doubt that I have been heard.  Because it would be very difficult for them to see me as an adult who has more life experience than they can imagine.  It is much easier to see a young boy, or a teen-aged youth who mysteriously knew how to pick the lock to get into the pastor’s study.  Or to remember that they had me in their class in Vacation Bible School.  Or was in my cabin at camp. 

And the same is true for Jesus.  The passage for today says that  Jesus was only able to do a few miracles.  “I could do more, but you won’t give me a chance.”  

Today, remember those you know who have entered into ministry or some other kind of service.  Give yourself an opportunity to get to know who they are now, just as you remember them as they were in those days.  

A miracle just might happen. 

Peace Be With You. – Paul

~ by revpaulcalkin on March 21, 2023.

Leave a comment